facebookPublic Holidays 2023 Singapore: Long Weekends in 2023 + How To Disappear From Work for 35 Days
88
shares

Advertisement

080422 Public holiday 2023 Singapore

Public Holidays 2023 Singapore: Long Weekends in 2023 + How To Disappear From Work for 35 Days

profileJoel Koh

As much as I enjoy my work.

Nothing beats the joy of public holidays and having the free time to do whatever you want.

Goes without saying that the longer the break, the better.

Source: Giphy

This is why you’ll be glad to know that according to the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) Singapore’s public holidays’ list, there’ll be 11 public holidays and 6 loooooong weekends in 2023.

Want to make full use of the holidays?

I’ve figured out a way to take just X days of leave to enjoy a grand total of:

34 DAYS OFF WORK!

Time to save this article to refer to when we plan for our holidays!


TL;DR: Public Holiday 2023 Singapore + Long Weekend Guide

Public HolidayDateDay
New Year's Day
Monday, 2 January 2023, will be a public holiday
1 January 2023Sunday
Chinese New Year
Tuesday, 24 January 2023, will be a public holiday
22 January 2023
23 January 2023
Sunday
Monday
Good Friday7 April 2023Friday
Hari Raya Puasa22 April 2023Saturday
Labour Day1 May 2023Monday
Vesak Day3 June 2023Saturday
Hari Raya Haji29 June 2023Thursday
National Day9 August 2023Wednesday
Deepavali
Monday, 13 November 2023, will be a public holiday
12 November 2023Sunday
Christmas Day25 December 2023Monday


Singapore Public Holidays 2023: How to Take Leave to Strech Your Long Weekends in Singapore

Are you wondering how to take just X days of leave to get X days off work?

Here’s the secret.

New Year’s Day 2023 Singapore (No Long Weekend)

 

Next year, New Year’s Day falls on Sunday, 1 January 2023.

2023 is off to a good start as you get a long weekend on the first day because Monday, 2 January 2023, will be a public holiday.

Probably a good time to make your New Year’s resolutions!

Chinese New Year 2023 Singapore (5 Days Off Using 1 Day of Leave)

In 2023, Chinese New Year will be happening on Sunday, 22 Jan 2023 and Monday, 23 Jan 2023.

This means that Tuesday, 24 January 2023 will be a public holiday.

To maximise this, here is what you need to do:

Good Friday 2023 Singapore (4 Days Off Using 1 Day of Leave)

In 2023, Good Friday will be happening on Friday, 7 April 2023.

To maximise this, here is what you need to do:

  • Friday (7 April 2023): Good Friday
  • Saturday (8 April 2023): Weekend
  • Sunday (9 April 2023): Weekend
  • Monday (10 Apr 2023): Take Leave.

Hari Raya Puasa 2023 Singapore (4 Days Off Using 1 Day of Leave)

In 2023, Hari Raya Puasa will fall on Saturday, 22 April 2023.

So… it feels like the public holiday is kinda wasted.

I mean, you can’t really expand it into a long weekend or anything…

HOWEVER.

Source: The Office (USA) | Giphy

In accordance with the Employment Act, if a public holiday falls on a non-working day.

You are entitled to another day off OR one extra day’s salary in lieu of the public holiday at the gross rate of pay.

For example, if you’re on a five-day workweek.

Saturday should be considered your non-working day.

For a public holiday that falls on a Saturday, you SHOULD get either a day off or salary in lieu.

To maximise this, here is what you need to do:

  • Saturday (22 April 2023): Hari Raya Puasa
  • Sunday (23 April 2023): Weekend
  • Monday (24 Apr 2023): Hari Raya Puasa off in lieu
  • Tuesday (25 April 2023): Take leave.

Labour Day 2023 Singapore (4 Days Off Using 1 Day Leave)

In 2023, Labour Day will fall on Monday, 1 May 2023.

To maximise this, here is what you need to do:

  • Saturday (29 April 2023): Weekend
  • Sunday (30 April 2023): Weekend
  • Monday (1 May 2023): Labour Day
  • Tuesday (2 May 2023): Take leave.

Vesak Day 2023 Singapore (4 Days Off 1 Day of Leave)

In 2023, Vesak Day will fall on Saturday, 3 June 2023.

Because Vesak Day falls on Saturday, you are entitled to an off in lieu the following Monday or one day’s pay.

  • Saturday (3 June 2023): Vesak Day
  • Sunday (4 June 2023): Weekend
  • Monday (5 June 2023): Vesak Day off in lieu
  • Tuesday (6 June 2023): Take Leave.

Hari Raya Haji 2023 Singapore (4 Days Off Use 1 Day of Leave)

In 2023, Hari Raya Haji will fall on Thursday, 29 June 2023.

To maximise this, here is what you need to do:

  • Thursday (29 June 2023): Hari Raya Haji
  • Friday (30 June 2023): Take Leave
  • Saturday (1 July 2023): Weekend
  • Sunday (2 July 2023): Weekend.

National Day 2023 Singapore (No Long Weekend)

In 2023, National Day will fall on Wednesday, 9 Aug 2023.

Sadly, there will be no long National Day weekend this year.

Deepavali 2023 Singapore (4 Days Off Use 1 Day of Leave)

In 2023, Deepavali will be happening on Sunday, 12 November 2023.

This means that Monday, 13 November 2023, will be a public holiday.

  • Saturday (11 November 2023): Weekend
  • Sunday (12 November 2023): Deepavali
  • Monday (13 November 2023): Deepavali public holiday
  • Tuesday (14 November 2023): Take leave

Christmas Day 2023 Singapore (4 Days Off Use 1 Day of Leave)

In 2023, Christmas Day will be happening on 25 Dec 2023 (Mon) in Singapore.

Since Christmas will be happening on a Sunday, the replacement is given on 26 Dec 2023 (Tues).

You should be taking leave on Tuesday as your company might give a half-day off on Friday for Christmas.

  • Saturday (23 Dec 2023): Weekend
  • Sunday (24 December 2023): Weekend
  • Monday (25 December 2023): Christmas Day
  • Tuesday (26 December 2023): Take Leave

Related Articles

Advertisement

profile
About Joel Koh
History student turned writer at Seedly. Before you ask, not a teacher. I hope to help people make better financial decisions and not let money control them.
You can contribute your thoughts like Joel Koh here.

🔥 What's Popular

    • Loading articles
    • Loading articles
    • Loading articles
    • Loading articles
    • Loading articles
    • Loading articles
Stay updated with the latest finance tips!
Receive bite-sized finance on Telegram here.

💬 Comments (0)

What are your thoughts?

No comments yet.
Be the first to share your thoughts!

🔥 What's Popular

    • Loading articles
    • Loading articles
    • Loading articles
    • Loading articles
    • Loading articles
    • Loading articles

Join our Community!

Discuss your thoughts with like-minded members in these community groups!

Stay updated with the latest finance tips!
Receive bite-sized finance on Telegram here.

Advertisement